Kate Lowe gets through the first round of BBC Amateur Artist Competition

Kate Lowe in her studio

Kate Lowe in her studio

Heatherley student Kate Lowe has made it through the first round of the BBC Amateur Artist competition.

The series received over 3,000 applicants of which 200 have been invited to the interview stage.

Kate was asked to submit a statement about why she paints: ‘I am the mother of three young children, and have been painting for about 10 years. I paint a variety of styles and subjects in a make-shift studio that we built at our home in West London as well as in a shared space with five other amateur female painters.

I started to paint as a way of understanding and exploring my relocation from Canada to the UK – which was 15 years ago. Painting has become my way of processing where I came from and its connection to where I am now. Sometimes my subject matter is a place, sometimes it is a moment in time, but it is all connected to a sense of what it means to feel at home in the world’.

About heatherleys

Heatherley's blog on art, artists and life in an art school
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

